NewsPhilippine News

Philippines 2016 Election Results

PHILIPPINES – On June 30, 2016 President Rodrigo Roa Duterte  was sworn in as 16th President by Supreme Court Justice Buenvenido L. Reyes. A Landslide Victory for President Duterte with 16.6 million votes, President Duterte won a 38.6 percent plurality in a historic 81 percent voter turnout. The election was relatively peaceful and orderly with 90 percent of precinct-level results reported within 36 hours. President Duterte’s campaign against corruption, illegal drugs and criminality resonated with Filipino voters. His track record in transforming Davao City into one of the safest and most prosperous cities drew widespread support.   President Duterte is the first president from Mindanao and first City Mayor to become the president. At 71 years old, he is the oldest to assume the presidency. He is a lawyer and former City Prosecutor of Davao City (1979-1986).

The Inaugural Address of President Duterte can be viewed HERE.

Duterte Aquino Departure Honors

Former President Benigno S. Aquino III and President Rodrigo Duterte, Departure Honors, 30 June 2016.


Previous post

50th Death Anniversary of Capt. Solomon, Jr.

Next post

BDO Foundation, US-PHL Society Fund Leyte Health Center Rehab