Philippine News

Guide to the Presidential Transition in the Republic of the Philippines

On May 9, 2016 the Philippines elected the new President and Vice President by direct vote of the people for a term of six years.

The Presidential Communications Development and Strategic Planning Office (PCDSPO) in cooperation with the Presidential Museum and Library, Malacañang Photo Bureau, National Library of the Philippines, and the National Economic and Development Authority have developed an interactive guide to the presidential transition on the the national government portal


From the time Congress proclaims a candidate the duly elected president of the Philippines, the candidate is referred to as the president-elect until his inaugural. From proclamation to inauguration, a few organizational concerns have to be considered.

A compilation of presidential issuances mandating the creation of a transition committee for every outgoing administration.

Facts about presidential privilege, the presidential paycheck, and the president’s family.

Inaugurations—swathed in pomp and circumstance, solemnity and ceremony—signal the assumption of the President’s stewardship of the nation that put him in power.

The ritual climbing of the stairs—symbolizing the possession of Malacañan Palace—was a tradition conscientiously began by President Manuel L. Quezon.

Malacañan Palace stands as the office and the official residence of the President of the Philippines. It has been opened to the public at large.

Which Philippine President won by the largest margin in Philippine electoral history?

Rodrigo Roa Duterte is set to be the 16th President of the Philippines and the sixth President of the Fifth Republic.

Learn more about the results of the 2016 Philippine national elections.

Related Reading and Media

Source: The Presidential Transition | Official Gazette of the Republic of the Philippines

Previous post

Philippine Philharmonic Orchestra debut in New York City

Next post

Business Mission and Board of Directors Meeting 2016